January 5, 2011

IAA Election Results for 2011

The International Actuarial Association (IAA) is pleased to announce that, at its meeting on October 12, 2010 in Vienna, the Council of the IAA elected the following individuals to serve as Officers of the IAA effective January 1, 2011.
Cecil Bykerk, President (one-year term ending December 31, 2011)
Jean-Louis Massé, Secretary General (four-year term ending December 31, 2014)
Desmond Smith, President-Elect (one-year term ending December 31, 2011)
Paul Thornton, Immediate Past President (one-year term ending December 31, 2011)


Cecil, a resident of the United States, is the Penultimate President of the Society of Actuaries and a past member of the Board of Trustees of the American Academy of Actuaries. He is past chairman of The Actuarial Foundation, currently serving on its Board. He was appointed to the Actuarial Standards Board in 2003 moving up to Chair at the beginning of 2006. Over the years, he has served on several IAA committees as a member, and Chaired the Education Committee (1999-2004) and the Strategic Planning Subcommittee of the Executive Committee (2010). 

As I look forward into 2011, I am excited about continuing the legacy of my IAA Presidential predecessors. Through his tireless efforts, 2010 President Paul Thornton launched several initiatives, several of which were accomplished during his term of office, but much remains to be done. The IAA’s five strategic objectives give us a clear path to follow. Important decisions remain to be made with respect to our new governance processes and major transition needs to take place with respect to the newly formulated standards setting process. I pledge to help direct this in a transparent and democratic manner and look forward to your continued support as I move forward on the IAA’s agenda.


Jean-Louis, a resident of Canada, is a Past President of the IAA (2006) and of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (2001-2002). He has also served on several IAA committees as a member, and Chaired several committees within the IAA, namely the Committee on Professionalism (2003-04), the Executive Committee (2006), the Strategic Planning Task Force (2005), the Nominations Committee (2007), the Task Force on Sections of the Member Services Committee (2008), and the Task Force on Advice and Assistance and on Actuaries Without Borders® (2010).

January 1st is also the beginning of the term of office for the Secretary General. Yves Guérard retired on December 31, 2010 after serving as the 1st SG of the IAA for more than 13 years. It will be a challenge to follow in his footsteps, but it is an honour and privilege to have been elected by my peers to serve in this capacity.

Armed with so many enthusiastic volunteers from 50 plus countries and, supported by a dedicated Secretariat, the IAA can look forward with optimism to contributing to the well-being of society as a whole. As the new SG, I share that goal and I invite you to join us in pursuit of that noble objective. Together we can make a difference.


To learn more about the work of the IAA, contact the IAA Secretariat.

version française
The International Actuarial Association (IAA) is the worldwide association of professional actuarial associations, with a number of special interest sections for individual actuaries. The IAA exists to encourage the development of a global profession, acknowledged as technically competent and professionally reliable, which will ensure that the public interest is served.
International Actuarial Association | Association Actuarielle Internationale
150 Metcalfe Suite 601 Ottawa, ON Canada K2P 1P1
Tel: 1-613-236-0886 | Fax: 1-613-236-1386
secretariat@actuaries.org | www.actuaries.org