Governance and Leadership

IAA Organizational Chart (Detailed and Simple)

The two main governing bodies of the International Actuarial Association (IAA) are the Council and Executive Committee.

IAA Council

The IAA Council is the governing body of the IAA in relation to achieving the IAA’s Vision Statement and Mission Statement through the IAA Strategic Plan. The Council normally meets twice a year in different countries. It comprises the Officers and one delegate per Full Member association and one delegate per Section. The officers comprise the President, President-Elect and Immediate Past President. The President chairs the Council and is elected to a term of 1 year.

The Officers for the period January 1, 2024, to December 31, 2024, are:

Charles Cowling
(United  Kingdom)
Bozenna Hinton
Micheline Dionne
Immediate Past President

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (EC) is elected by the Council to advance the operation of the IAA. It meets frequently throughout the year, and its major meetings are held twice a year in conjunction with the Council meetings. Its primary mandate is as follows:

  1. To carry out the operational aspects of the IAA;
  2. To prepare strategy proposals and material for consideration at Council meetings; and
  3. To monitor the implementation of the Strategic Plan.

The duties of the Executive Committee are listed in its Terms of Reference.

The Executive Committee shall consist of all officers of the IAA and eight (8) additional members to be elected by the Council.

Representatives from our member associations serve on over 30 committees, subcommittees, task forces, and working groups. Find out more...

The IAA is governed by Statutes, Internal Regulations and various policies and procedures.